A family excursion to Kraków 

A mixed bag of blood relations – uncle, son, cousins, daughter, grandmother, mother, grandchildren, adding up to a total of six – made its way to Kraków, through a snowy rural landscape. Kraków was bleak and grey after rain: it boasts the worst air pollution in Poland, and in Europe. People were wearing masks in the street, and one man was even wearing a mask reminiscent of gas masks in WW2. We ventured out unmasked.

Our sightseeing agenda was largely determined by 4 year olds: pigeon-chasing in the square; watching the Kraków dragon spout flames; sitting in a cosy cafe while they ignored a rich rosol, coloured in at the little table thoughtfully provided and investigated the dragon mural and the large floppy dragon in the corner. I took a brief solitary walk, and visited Auschwitz – Birkenau with my son and granddaughter. I won’t write about that because there are no words.


(Tap on any photo in this collage to activate a slide show.)

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A family excursion to Kraków 

  1. Sue says:

    Looks like you had seriously dull weather, Meg…what is the Kraków air pollution attributed to?

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    You’ve convinced me I couldn’t cope with a Polish winter, Meg! It looks so bleak! Not at all like the sunny world I know, though I have seen it in the rain. Such a shame because it truly is beautiful. 🙂 Somehow I thought you’d be going straight to Zakopane because it’s already well on the way from Krakow. Presumably you’re not all going to the Tatrys but you did say the twins were to have skiing lessons? What fun! I adore the photo of them all padded out. 🙂 Multitudinous hugs, sweetheart! I think you’ll sleep for a week when you get back to Australia. 🙂
    I just couldn’t do Auschwitz. Will email shortly, though I’ve said most of it here 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • All off to Zakopane except J. The initial idea was to combine Kraków and Zakopane, but it got lost somewhere. Tomorrow night we share a sleeper, all six of us, departing at 11 pm. I slept for a week today, I must confess: I’m expecting the week to be more leisurely. At Auschwitz we were so processed on the guided tour, waiting in a lineup of other guided tours that the impact of horror was lost, until reflection afterwards. It was something I had to do, and I won’t do it again.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. freebutfun says:

    A grey day but stunning buildings!

    Like

  4. Can imagine the sad scene in Birkenau and Auschwitz, Meg. Will come back in detail to your picture show later. Lo0oks good so far. Glad you had a good crowd of family.

    Like

  5. Just glad they all made it over. Wish our situ was better and we could come too. Just not sure how the facilities would be for our peculiar dispositions, hehe. Can tell your other correspondents if they ask you?? We miss our travels just glad it all got done when we were better.

    Like

  6. deannemmoore says:

    You brought back memories of my visit to Krakow with my grand daughter, without snow even though it felt cold enough. The memory of our visit to Auschwitz – Birkenau still brings tears to my eyes any time I read or hear anything about the place. x

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Heyjude says:

    Some lovely buildings but boy does that look bleak! And do I spy Christmas decorations still up in that last image? The family photos remind me of my family on Christmas jaunts! Always so bundled up. You Aussie folk will be sooo looking forward to some warmth!

    Like

  8. quollgirl says:

    So strange to see this other side of Krakow. We were there in 38 degree heat, a pregnant Rose vomiting in the square in front of the dragon castle on the day after my 39th birthday. We have our own pollution, as Undercliffe burns and summer continues to beat up the climate-change deniers.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Suzanne says:

    Gosh. This is an unsettling post. We are having our own pollution issues over here too. All the beaches around Port Phillip Bay have been closed due to untreated sewage washing down the waterways in the weekend’s heavy rain. This morning I came across an expanse of water along a deserted beach. The only explanation my friends and I could come up was that it was coming from the nearby town’s sewage outlet .

    Like

  10. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Those pollution stats are appalling, including the UK. Having been to Gallipoli, I wouldn’t want to go to Auschwitz Meg, I couldn’t bear it. Love the dragon sculpture and the city looks interesting, but not in winter 🙂 🙂

    Like

Please talk to me!

