Shadows in the snow

I’m slowly learning the vagaries of snow. If it crunches it’s unlikely to be slippery. If it’s slippery and I fail to pay close attention, penguin-waddle, raise my feet, and move hunched over and at as sprightly a pace as I can manage, I fall ignominiously over. I fall once. My son lifts me bodily to my feet, holding me in a firm clinch until I stabilise. One of the park semi-vagrants comes over to help. All those younger than me, including J who is fit and not yet 70, run and frolic and glide without a tumble in sight.

Since my family began arriving last Wednesday the days have been sunny. Once I’m out in the snow I’m captivated by the light and the snow shadows. But I make sure I’m standing on a salted and sanded footpath before I shift my attention to photography.

Any advice about the safe navigation of ice would be most welcome!

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos, seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shadows in the snow

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    You have captured the winter light so beautifully, Meg. Golf shoes for ice? Something with spikes. Then you’d be able frolic 🙂

    Like

  2. icelandpenny says:

    Love your snow-&-shadow pictures! A couple of tricks to help reduce the falls when walking on slippery surfaces (from one who also must take care): (1) take shorter steps; (2) keep your body weight aligned directly over your feet, not behind or ahead. If you stride out, landing your heel well forward of your body, lack of surface grip means that your body weight + momentum will shoot that heel forward, i.e. out from under you, & you’ll land on your bum. Step down, not forward or back, so that your body weight helps anchor your foot instead of shooting it out from under you. (Also, hold on! to a railing, to a friendly arm…) But by all means, keep going out to enjoy the winter.

    Like

  3. Heyjude says:

    I hate icy paths, always, always a danger and here in the UK very rarely gritted. Even as a thirty year old I slipped and slid all over the place so I’m not sure it is an age thing, just a confidence issue. So take care and hang onto an arm, but don’t stop the photos coming, these are lovely.

    Like

  4. Lucid Gypsy says:

    The second and third photos could almost have been taken deep in the woods, lovely. I can imagine the family having a great time together there, what a perfect time for them to visit.

    Like

Please talk to me!

