The snow retreats …

… leaving ice and slush and the odd snowman. Ducks swim in the green water of the clay pit where it hasn’t turned to ice, pick around Pan on their bright orange legs, and leave sharp footprints in the snow; large outline figures of ladies and gentlemen merge into the sparseness of winter trees; a swell of chatter passes with a contingent of runners; a peacock huddles against the wall of the palace on the island; and a battered staircase takes me up the escarpment to the Centre for Contemporary Art and slush turned greasy. That’s my Sunday morning walk.








About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in parks, photos, seasons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The snow retreats …

  1. Suzanne says:

    So very different from Oz in the summer. It looks freezing but fascinating all the same. I hope you are all well.

    Like

    • All ill in fact!!! Although getting over it: chicken pox for the kids, perpetual cold for us. Australia seems to have been copping heat. Are you blogging? I haven’t been getting notifications. I hope you’re well and having a great start to 2017.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Suzanne says:

        Yep, still blogging through I did go through a ‘will I, won’t I’ mood over new year. Getting back on track now. The WordPress Reader does seem a bit temperamental. I get notifications of blogs I don’t remember following and yet don’t see my favourite bloggers popping up very often. I had to go to your blog and click Follow again as I realised I hadn’t seen any posts from you for ages. I hope the family recovers soon. Chicken pox in little ones is so unpleasant. The weather does sound bleak over there. I don’t think I could deal with that kind of cold. It has been hot in most areas though not so much down here. People are complaining “It hasn’t been much of a summer” seems to be the constant refrain. I got a serious cut on my leg just before Christmas and have been mostly at home since then. The wound is such that I can’t go swimming or even visit the beach. Hopefully this week will be the last week with medical dressings.

        Like

  2. funnymentalist61 says:

    Thanks again Meg, for once more, a fabulous photo show of your current region of abode.
    Most enjoyable.

    Like

  3. desleyjane says:

    !! Snowman !! I’ve never made one 😧

    Like

  4. Sue says:

    Oh, yuk…slush!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heyjude says:

    Looks awfully cold! I like snow when it’s fresh, but hate it when slushy, grey and frozen. You’ve had a rough winter so far, I hope it improves for you before you leave. Sorry to hear you are still feeling poorly.

    Like

  6. Lucid Gypsy says:

    It better not freeze again, it would be slippery. It looks pretty though, and it was freezing here this morning with thick fog for an hour or two.

    Like

  7. Snow always seems magical until the melt, doesn’t it. But your description was quite poetic, Meg!

    Like

Please talk to me!

