Sunshine and ice

These photos aren’t mine. I’m grumpy and confined to quarters again with a hacking cough and a paranoid fear of pneumonia. It’s J who gets to roam around, sampling -13°, a temperature colder than we’ve felt here before. He walks through Morskie Oko and by the river, and comes home with eye-water frozen to his cheek. We talk to the man who collects our rent, a weather forecaster, who tells us that the Narew, a river smaller than the Wisła, is already iced over in the north-east of Poland. The Wisła only has floes, floating at speed and singing their ice-song.

This is a collage that turns into a slide show when you click on a photo.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in other people's photos, seasons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunshine and ice

  1. Sue says:

    Sorry to hear you are laid low and grumpy, Meg…..but try not to be paranoid about pneumonia, wrap up warm and keep up the fluids…plenty of water (I drink hot water in the colder weather)

    Like

  2. Heyjude says:

    Oh, sorry to hear that you are unwell. Having a cold sucks…. but drink lots of hot lemon and eat lots of citrus fruit, it might not cure anything but it tastes nice! Chamomile tea and honey is soothing too.
    I do like J’s photos – everything looks very bleak and cold. That ice on the river is amazing. And I love the path to preschool, a lovely composition. Hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  3. Please pass on my compliments about the photos – I can tell it is very cold, but the photos are beautiful. Hope you are feeling better very soon!

    Like

    • I hope I’m better soon too. I’m not a fan of serial colds. I think I had two weeks between. The photos are great aren’t they? I believe you photograph things you love well, and the river has been his salvation. He’s not a city dweller.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. restlessjo says:

    Good morning grumpy invalid person! I feel quite guilty about our gentle 19C temperature even though the days are short. Yesterday we took a beautiful balmy riverside walk up in the hills. Storing up treasures for my return to England. The ice floes make spectacular shots. Share a hug or 2 with J. He’s earned it. Hope you’re fully functional soon Meg. I’ll be back to check xxx

    Like

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Great photos, and that’s as close as I want to get! How are you feeling today, I hope there’s some progress? I echo Jude’s advice and add my hugs as well 🙂

    Like

  6. Amy says:

    Great captures of the snow scene.-13 is very cool… Hope you are feeling better.

    Like

  7. Madhu says:

    Brrrrrr….I wouldn’t survive that weather! Does make for some marvellous photos doesn’t it? ‘Looking back to the city’ is gorgeous. And I love the close ups.
    Hope you are feeling better already Meg. Stay warm….hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. prior.. says:

    hope you heal soon and enjoyed the pics you selected 🙂
    brrrrrrr

    Like

  9. restlessjo says:

    I’m back to check on my grumpy friend and admire that ice… from afar 🙂 🙂 Love you hon. Hope life improves.

    Like

    • Life’s fine, thank you my dear. My son’s crowd-sourcing snow gear, having decided boardies and thongs won’t cut it in Zakopane. I spent yesterday with Maja as she loses her chicken spots – a 12 hour day and an awful didn’t-turn-up-for-my-final-exam dream and still lively. Many hugs heading southish into your sunshine.

      Like

  10. Suzanne says:

    I’d been wondering how you been getting on in the Warsaw winter. For some reason your blog disappeared from my Reader. I hope you all recovering and that the icy blasts that have hit Eastern Europe have been kind to you. All the best – Suzanne

    Like

  11. pommepal says:

    Hope you are soon fully recovered Meg. I send you thoughts of sunshine from over here. What beautiful photos J contributed.

    Like

Please talk to me!

