In search of ballet and boots

On Saturday I’m off to see the Moscow ballet at a venue I’m unfamiliar with. So I decide to reconnoitre. After all I have form. Three years ago I failed spectacularly to find the theatre where I’d booked an evening of mime. Not about to miss “Swan Lake”, I hop on a bus that goes directly to No 6 Łazienkowska, or so the trip planner suggests. I’m so glad I did. 400 metres from the bus stop isn’t far, but you have to know which direction to walk and how to get down from the flyover where the bus stops. I prowl around amidst grimy snow and grimy puddles and a strange brick church that tried unsuccessfully to copy some style of church architecture or other, and looks as if it began life dilapidated. I finally find a nondescript building across a nondescript car park which has the number I’m looking for. Not the site for tutus and arabesques that I expected. Returning to the bus top I pass pillars of artwork, a continuation of some I saw on another walk once upon a time when daybreak meant 6 am.

Next it’s a hunt for boots. I’ve noted the Polish for substantial tread, non slip on ice, waterproof, size 39. But this arsenal doesn’t score me boots, just four shops which might actually have what I want if I put my mind to it. But I don’t waste my trip to Złote Tarasy. I catch a glimpse of Stalin’s Gift reduced by a view through bare branches, a new design for Christmas street lights, and all the bling of Christmas in a shopping mall.




About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In search of ballet and boots

  1. Heyjude says:

    …all this and a sweet selfie too 😀

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Well, I do hope that’s the ballet trip organised, then!

    Like

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Oh I like the ‘Gift’ with berries. That street art is a bit different and I’ve never seen a churchlike that either, good captures Meg. Glad you’ve sorted the ballet venue x:-)x

    Like

    • I felt a bit anal checking to be honest, but so glad I did. I would not have enjoyed the hunt on a dark rainy night. The triptych street art was on stanchions: I’ve photographed the ones on the other side of the street before. I’m always glad to get a new perspective on the Gift, especially if it diminishes its arrogance.

      Like

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    Glad that you had the forethought to check the ballet venue. It would have been a huge disappointment to miss out having so keenly anticipated it and paid in advance. Do you remember that years ago when we were about 14 you gave me a book about the Bolshoi Ballet School? I still have it.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    I was smitten with the puddle shot 🙂 🙂 Perhaps because it’s raining here, less poignantly. Cats and dogs, in fact! I’m sure you have an entry in your street art for Paula’s conceptual 🙂 Po polsku… nie rozumiem 🙂

    Like

  6. Paula says:

    I love that selfie photo best. Some of these scenes remind me so much of Zagreb, except for snow. We don’t have any.

    Like

Please talk to me!

