Is this a palace?

Today, a splendid building, which is not in fact a palace, except perhaps metaphorically. Admire its grandeur, hunt for clues, and then I’ll tell you what it is. 

It’s Polytechnika, the oldest building of the Russian Imperial University of Technology, built between 1899 and 1901 on the site of the wooden pavilions for the Second Hygiene Exhibition in 1896. The architect, Stefan Szyller, decided on “cosmopolitan eclecticism” for the facade, and inside the huge roofed courtyard the arcades and stairs copied Polish Renaissance style. A pretty splendid palace of learning! In 1916, it was taken over by Warsaw University of Technology, which has a history going back to  1829. 

Not a palace, but it certainly reflects the vagaries of Polish history.

And a confession. I was fiddling round with programming on my camera the other night trying to learn how to photograph lights at night and I forgot to switch it back to idiot mode, so these photos were taken with a camera that was neither programmed nor automatic. They all had a greenish tinge, rather lovely but it didn’t represent reality. Snapseed put that right, but I can’t resist posting one fraud!

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in architecture, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Is this a palace?

  1. Heyjude says:

    I was suspecting a hotel or a shopping centre until we reached the outside. What a fab building, I hope those students appreciate learning there, beats the Polytechnic I attended (ugly 1960s glass and metal box) hands down. And your first photo – Sue is going to love that one!

    ( I have often forgotten to check my camera settings – resulting in daylight shots taken in sunset mode! So you are not alone… )

    Liked by 1 person

    • A shopping centre? Now that would be grand! Thank you for making a guess. The students I saw seemed to be either hurrying or talking on their mobiles – or both. Even the man on that wonderful balcony. A bit of snow happening outside here, despite the fact that it was predicted.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    I’m glad you did! I hate that green shot 🙂 🙂 I was just thinking what a superb collection you’d put together. All those lovely arches, and a ‘One’ nominee, and that superb sculpture. So intent! I love looking at life through your eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You hate it? I’d have kept them all green except that I’m an honest woman – mostly! Are you feeling any better? Have a whirly snow hug or seventeen.

      Like

      • restlessjo says:

        That’s exactly what I thought- an honest woman 🙂 🙂 Back’s a lot easier thanks. Did t’ai chi this morning and thinking maybe will try Pilates from next week, instead of zumba sadly, but I might give that one last go on Saturday. Glutton for punishment 🙂 Ooh, I’m whirling, I’m whirling! Getting giddy 🙂

        Like

  3. Rosemary Barnard says:

    Who is the woman? Marie Curie?

    Like

  4. Sue says:

    Wonderful palace of learning, Meg, and no, I didn’t guess! Love your ‘One’, and those fantastic arches….like Jo, I love looking at life through your eyes.

    Like

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I thought it was an hotel, built round a courtyard like in Morocco, then I though perhaps a library, or consulting rooms. What lucky students, I hope they appreciate it, I probably wouldn’t have at that age.

    Like

Please talk to me!

