A short walk in the cold

No more daybreak walks for me. I sit inside, storing up heat before I venture out – except on preschool days, which generate their own special warmth. On Friday I am diverted from a mid-morning plan – get to Nowy Świat quickly to photograph the Kossakowski Palace, and then scuttle back home equally quickly – by the sight of a peacock. So once I capture the palace I set off to walk back three bus stops along a very familiar stretch of road. I pass an oversize glittery hat full of parcels; an intricately twisted tree, bare except for its red fruits; a number of buildings painted since I first noticed them the year the twins were born; an explanation of a brick building with alien arches (a search for a national style in 1895 led to a neo Gothic facade imitating a Venetian palace); construction work, a great crane swivelling overhead with its load of concrete blocks; a doorway into a courtyard from which a tractor comes straight at me; a gracious building  scaffolded with battered timber since 2012; an antique bookshop with woodcuts and pale pink and green maps in the window; and Christmas lights in seven different designs.

Then I come to the peacock, and nearby a pleasant mosaic swan alone in the footpath and a ladder of fungus ascending a grey fissured trunk. I diverge into Ujadowskie park and find my old photographic confederates waiting for me: bark on trees that survived the destruction of wartime. There is also a summer house with sparse vines, a pond inhabited by willow reflections and seagulls, and orange-and-yellow-leaved companion trees.

And then a cosy bus, and Friday lunch with my daughter, a recent regular pleasure that I relish.



About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A short walk in the cold

  1. Sue says:

    I’ve been missing your early morning walk posts, Meg, but this one will do nicely!

    Like

  2. Heyjude says:

    Oh, oh, oh, this has to be one of your best ones yet! Love the designs of the Christmas lights (and the lamp posts they are attached to), love the hat full of presents, the peacock!!! the mosaic swan and the fungi on the tree; the summerhouse, the willows and that last flaming tree. Such winter delights (of course it is not yet true winter) that warm my heart this cold morning.

    Like

    • You’re just relieved I’m not posting disturbing heads! I’ve ID-ed at least four more designs in other places. And please don’t say it’s not true winter yet! A puny attempt at snow outside, and the temperature hovering around zero all week. I’m glad you enjoyed the walk: I’ve been too much indoors. I nearly didn’t post it because it was such bits-and-pieces, but then I suppose that’s what a walk is!

      Like

      • Heyjude says:

        Near freezing would keep me in too, In fact I have practically hibernated already. I keep seeing events that I might like to visit, but then I see the weather and decide I’m not all that interested. Trouble is it is dark so early and I hate driving in the dark around here as it really is dark! So if we go out we need to be back by 3:30. I would like to photo some Christmas windows though in St Ives.

        Like

        • restlessjo says:

          Wuss! Get yourself there! I demand to see those lights 🙂 and you can’t refuse an invalid who asks so impolitely.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Heyjude says:

            You are in the wars aren’t you? What have you done to the knee? Banged it on something? Went into the town today and they were still hanging up lights so I’ll wait a week or so before heading in at night- time. Very cold!

            Like

            • restlessjo says:

              All part and parcel of arthritis and the joys of being geriatric. 🙂 I shall wait, patiently… sort of! I’m going to a Christmas market on the edge of the Peaks (well, Sheffield 🙂 ) on Sunday. To my friend’s pub, who moved from Durham. Must be limping better by then.

              Like

              • Heyjude says:

                Ooh, enjoy Sheffield on the edge of the Peaks – I worked in Fulwood for several years (on the edge of the Peaks) and we used to go to a pub every now and then for a long lunch – such beautiful countryside. Sorry to hear about the pains – arthritis sucks… 😦

                Liked by 1 person

        • The beauty of life here is not having to drive at night: just hop on a convenient tram and you’re there. I’m off out again tonight – far more than ever at home. It’ll be weird driving again.

          I’ll look forward to the St Ives lights, and any tips you have about capturing their Warsaw cousins.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    The peacock is magnificent, does it have lights? but I like the swan best. the trees are rather lovely in their swan song, and the bracket fungus is well trained, climbing in a straight line! Nice to get regular mummy-daughter time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The peacock is all lights. But the switch-on date hasn’t arrived yet, although I saw one street alight coming home late the other night. The peacock is right where I began my walk to remember Christine. My daughter is so busy – I’m honoured that there’s time for me. I can enjoy her company, and get my odd bits of translation done.

      Like

    • restlessjo says:

      I like the swan and the swan song best too, Gilly 🙂

      Like

  4. freebutfun says:

    The peacock is lovely!

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    Such a resplendent peacock! So there’s a prospect I will see it lit up? Pretty please! I’ll send you a big woolly muffler and bootees in the post 🙂 Bribery usually works. If I include a hug or two? So nice to see Warsaw looking festive. i do like the hat too, and those wistful trees, but, yes- definitely the sad swan. 🙂

    Like

    • My down jacket, straining at the seams though it is, is now officially being worn. I love snuggling down in its hood. And I’ve just pulled out my fur-lined leather gloves. I’ve been wearing the alpaca socks for weeks. It was quite pleasant out this morning as long as the biting wind minded its own business. Thank you for the offer of muffler and booties, but what I really need to fulfil your commission is nighttime photographic skills. The hugs regardless please – twins ducked into preschool this morning without the usual nose-kiss. I didn’t insist. Jaś began the morning saying “Not want to go to pre-school”and hiding in the cupboard, so I was glad to deliver him peacefully.

      Like

Please talk to me!

