Golden Polish autumn

Złota Polska Jesien: golden Polish autumn. This is indeed what it is: predominantly golden, my favourite leaves those old-gold ones from the oaks. Sometimes the leaves are not quite golden, more a gentle lemon-yellow. They make thick carpets on the ground, and a golden roadway up beside the Pałac.




But it’s not only gold: there are highlights of orange and russet and pink and red and still the occasional grace-note of green.


Gradually leaves on the ground outnumber leaves left on the trees, a kickable carpet that crunches if the rain lets up for a day or two. Soon the trees will be bare again as they were when we arrived.

The fountain in Park Morskie Oko has been switched off and the pond is draining.

Today daylight saving ends, and the dark begins.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos, seasons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Golden Polish autumn

  1. Sue says:

    What a lovely wander through golden, Meg!

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    It does! I really don’t like it, Meg. I wish they wouldn’t mess with the clock. Do they do that in Australia too? And don’t you have Autumnal colour there? I find it hard to imagine 🙂 I hope you’ve adjusted to your ‘bad news’, hon. I know how resilient you are, as well as being a dear soul. Your golden delight is truly beautiful. I dragged Mick in search of a castle as well as leaves to kick today. Such a strange Sunday without Dad.

    Like

    • Yes. At least NSW does and Queensland doesn’t. To complicate matters my daughter lives in NSW and crosses the border to work in Queensland! We don’t have much autumn colour where I live: Canberra and the high country does, but nothing like here because they’re all introduced species.

      I can imagine the strangeness of Sunday without your dad. Did you see him regularly on Sunday?

      Like

  3. Heyjude says:

    I miss trees here, always plenty around the river in Ludlow, but not so many in this place. Your goldeness is gorgeous – the oaks, the maples, the sycamores, the beech trees. A true ‘festival of leaves’. I hope J is OK. Will he be back for Christmas with you?

    Like

    • He’s been fluey, and depressed because every time he goes on a long river-walk, his salvation, he gets sicker. This is R&R, and he’ll come back when he’s well and had his fill of gardening, which he misses dreadfully. There will be benefits to me: he’s sending me a few packets of paper fasteners and a few balls of string, neither of which we’ve been able to locate here!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude says:

        I can empathise to some extent. Feeling ill as I have this week is no fun, I have had no energy for anything, even blogging has taken a huge effort and had to wait until the headache eased. I missed my little garden after only 3 weeks! I can imagine J finds city life quite hard, living as he does surrounded by nature. I wish him a speedy recovery.

        Like

      • Lucid Gypsy says:

        Oh dear, I hope J is okay?

        Like

        • Should be OK now, back on his block in sunshine, with a garden and a boat to play with. Everyone’s surprised he lasted this long – and the plan is to come back for a few more months before our visas run out in March.

          Like

  4. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Meg as well as the colours, I love the shapes of the leaves, some like golden stars, and I notice those shapes more when they’re under my nose!

    Like

Please talk to me!

