Shopping

I go shopping with my daughter. First we visit the tailor, just down ul Dworkowa. She has a bag of clothes for mending, and I have my winter coat. It needs to be taken up a peg or two, so I don’t trip ignominiously over it on the stairs. We go to the first floor up a winding staircase, and sit waiting for our turn. Three women move around, finding repaired items, and recording new orders. The workroom is empty for the time being.

Then we head off to see about my laptop, dead since arrival. The man who offers computer service isn’t there, and “won’t be back till after 12.” Last time I called he wasn’t there either. So local computer repair is perhaps off my agenda. One more try maybe.

Our third visit is to the bootmaker. This is complicated. First we press a button to gain entrance. The instructions on the wall outside say “downstairs”. We only have the option of upstairs so we wind around corridors until we come to stairs leading down. We twist and turn around more corridors, following a sign my daughter can’t translate. We finally reach a ruddy-faced, round-headed man at a table scattered with shoes. I pull out my Keen’s sandals, which have walked me all over Eastern Europe. He scrutinises and measures and prods, as a doctor does a patient, and takes a phone number to let us know when they’re repaired.

Then I drift into a second hand shop. I’m not usually a good shopper in second hand shops but this morning I find a pillar-box red dressing-gown, plush and soft like the twins’ jackets with their ears and pom-poms, and in my size. I take it to the counter and the man puts it on the scales and charges me for it by weight.

My last shopping for the day is at the National Museum. It’s Ola’s 70th birthday, and I’m stumped for a gift. I have high hopes of the museum shop, and they are not disappointed. I find a bamboo fan, beautifully packaged in a long box, and opening to show a gentle image of cranes. Ola hates hot weather, so maybe I have found the perfect gift, even when the temperature is 7°C.

It never pays to gloat over a satisfactory Friday. On Saturday morning I go shopping again, find the perfect wrapping paper for Ola’s gift, and lose my keys to the apartment. Irretrievably.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos, shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Shopping

  1. Sue says:

    I do hope you can get a spare set of keys cloned from Js set…..

    Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Ooops what a pain! but soon sorted. So when the cobbler calls someone will understand what he says? Gorgeous colour dressing gown and a pretty fan which has to be a success. Sounds like a good shopping trip to me 🙂

    Like

    • He’ll call my son in law. And thank you. Cobbler is the word I was looking for: I wanted something from the past. I’m not a shopper usually – things just fell into place. And Ola told me I give good presents – I think.

      Like

  3. desleyjane says:

    Oh dear. But what a beautiful dressing gown and gorgeous fan.

    Like

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    When distracted by another person I once locked my car with the keys in the ignition and the engine still running. Fortunately someone immediately drove me to my nearby home and I retrieved a spare set from a neighbour. Talk about embarrassing. That can’t happen with the keyless arrangement for the new car, which is all digital. Of course, the battery could go flat….eventually.

    Like

    • Distraction does it every time. I think I dropped the keys when my scarf caught on the velcro of my jacket sleeve and I was trying to break it loose. Silver linings – we now have a code as well as the electronic key – and a complex regime of key care.

      Like

  5. Heyjude says:

    I have never (touch wood) locked myself out of my home, but I have done it with a previous car where you could put the lock down manually and close the door with the key still in the ignition! Not once, but twice! And the second time meant a 4 mile walk home along a very busy road. I hate shopping for clothes and shoes so I do most of it online, which isn’t always a good thing. And I have never heard of charging someone for a garment by weight! Good job it was nice and light then 🙂

    Like

    • I had a spell where I had to be liberated by the NRMA three days in a row. As I rang I prayed a different bloke would be on duty! But my worst experience was leaving an apartment here for the last time, and closing the door before both my suitcases were outside after I’d dropped the key in the letterbox.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Tish Farrell says:

    Oh dear, the stranded suitcase-keys through letter box scenario is giving me palpitations just to think of it. I HATE losing things, but it seems to be happening more often these days – mind too much in scatter effect mode. But the shopping definitely came good. You’re going to really enjoy that dressing gown.

    Like

Please talk to me!

