Sunday at the Botanical Gardens

I’m getting a bit better at catching events. I’ve had Orchid Days in my diary for some time. 

My propensity for being early (if you call 10am early) serves me well. I’m finishing my stroll though the glasshouses as the crowds appear. Even so, I spend a lot of time cowering amongst lush leaves to let people pass so my camera and I can gawp.

I haven’t been in such tropical lushness since Cairns a year and a half ago, where these photos could well have been taken.




A poster shows the natives you’re likely to find in Polish national parks, and colourful nineteenth century botanical drawings hang along the edge of the path. 


The orchids are not the tiny natives I’m used to, but I’m not resistant to their cultivated beauty or their presentation in a man-made environment. They are displayed in baskets, logs or pots amongst the greenery, or clambering on trees. A few are in glass cases.









Amongst the orchids are a few ring-ins. The pitcher plant has a special place in the evolution of our interest in bush orchids at home. When J first saw a greenhood, that’s what he thought it was. The reddish-brown and white beauty defeated my camera, and our joint ID capacity: I’m still not sure whether it’s an orchid.

I move with the flow of people past the gardens building into another glass house.

No tropical lushness here, and no orchids. 

I leave the gardens sated with plant life and with a dying camera battery, passing a couple of woven sculptures and a very large silver horse.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in flowers, iPhone photos, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sunday at the Botanical Gardens

  1. Suzanne says:

    Luxuriant indeed. I find the scent of orchids overwhelming but visually they are wonderful.

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    I did smile at you cowering under lush leaves….more lurking under lush leaves, I would have thought, Meg!! That said, you’ve shown us some luscious images of those orchids 😀

    Like

  3. desleyjane says:

    These are gorgeous photos Meg. Really stunning. You’ve really shown off the beauty of these gardens.

    Like

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    What a delight to see these pictures Meg. Yes I do recognise a lot of them, at least the genus, if that is the right term. My little dendrobium orchids, both pink and white, are currently in flower outside my kitchen window, a real feast of sight and scent.

    Like

    • Is that reddy-brown-and-white one an orchid? And I miss perfume because I have a compromised sense of smell.

      Like

      • Rosemary Barnard. says:

        The inside part is very orchid-like. I wouldn’t put it past the outside to be some kind of modified orchid part But I have never seen such flowers in any orchid compendium. It looks Central or South American rainfiorest, maybe even Malaysian jungle, but where to start identification? Was there a sign with botanical name or other information, which could be translated?

        Like

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    This G would be a very happy G there, I do love exotic plants, especially orchids whether they’re tiny or big, blowsy ones from the supermarket. Excellent photos my dear 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. restlessjo says:

    I’m standing on a chair and applauding! What a superb gallery of orchids, Meg! I have a soft spot for that pretty bamboo you did in close up but the orchids are stunning. 🙂 Myself, I’m inclined to the tiny variety, but big and blowsy and show off… that’s an orchid. I didn’t see finer even in Madeira. Happy Friday night hugs. Have a lovely weekend 🙂 🙂

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    Presuming you’re busy with friend/family, Meg 🙂 Just checking to make sure everything’s ok?

    Like

  8. Gorgeous photos, Meg! What a treat.

    Like

  9. Heyjude says:

    I’m not a huge fan of orchids though I am attracted to their shapes and colours – and I have never noticed any scent and I do have a good sense of smell – I usually save visits to glasshouses for rainy days, but not sure there are any ‘proper’ glasshouses down here in Cornwall. Certain to be lots of rainy days…

    Like

Please talk to me!

