Vignettes from a morning walk 8

                             This post is for Sue whose influence leads me to populate my photos.

Not so early this morning, but then neither’s daybreak. On the tram at 6.22, and on a mission, which as always returns more than I expect. 

I cross the river over Most Gdański by tram and then walk back across the Wisła. Bridge pleasures? Its structural lines; the way it frames the pylons in the distance; a man walking in colour-coordinated green; a love-lock and love messages; the view of the city and its reflections; the spiral staircase curling up to the footpath across the road bridge, and down to the path along the river; the small figures of fishermen silhouetted in the morning light. 





Last time I was here the river foreshores were a mess of reconstruction. Now that work is finished. Summer eating places spread out along the embankment, soon to be dismantled for winter. The clean-up team is busy with leaf blowers and garbage bags: one lad hops out of the truck to pick up a stray plastic bottle. A message on a low fence asks “How do you see Warsaw?” and invites you to use chalk to create a mural. 


A long line of globes decorated by different artists carry save-the-environment messages. The most interesting one is in praise of green roofs, not something I’d considered before.



The foreshore has been landscaped with plenty of benches, and tree-plantings that will eventually provide pleasant shade. Flowers and grasses already soften the newness. The rubbish bins are clearly marked for recycling, and there are a scattering of cyclists, roller bladers, joggers and walkers doing their bit for themselves and the planet. A viewing platform gives a superior view back to the old town, and across the river to the stadium.


I reach the end of the refurbished foreshore at the Most Ślasko-Dąbrowski, rebuilt on pillars left standing after WW2. Upstream from the stairs there are excavations: foreshore work continues.  


About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in early morning, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Vignettes from a morning walk 8

  1. restlessjo says:

    They’re doing a lovely job, and you’ve created a wonderful walk from it, Meg 🙂 Even if it’s Sue’s, I’ll still ‘borrow’ it 🙂 🙂 All those twirls and curls, and the lovely globes. The guy on the bike is great. You’re definitely learning a trick or two. 🙂 It’s going to be lonesome around here for a while with Gilly and Jude away, and Suzanne abdicating. Good job you have the family for company. And your friend 🙂 Nice day?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The guy on the bike? There were hundreds till I wanted a photo, so I lurked until this fellow appeared. Stalking is what Sue’s led me to! I was going to give you the walk so you wouldn’t have to stoop to walk theft, and I forgot.

      We are dwindling: pommiepal too. I hope you have no plans to join the dwindlers. Tonight I’m worn out from this and that – and falling flat on my side in the middle of the road. I’m so lucky to have escaped with a mild graze, a dirty arm and severe loss of dignity. I could use a hug. Given that I was on a walking tour of Jewish Warsaw, I shouldn’t even mention it. And thank you for being the one that persuaded me into guided tours. Hugs and a happy day tomorrow.

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    Thanks for this post, Meg! I love your vignettes from your morning walks (as you know). I am endlessly envious of your ability to catch those early trams! Love the spiral staircases, and very pleased to see you populating more images!

    Like

  3. Rosemary Barnard says:

    Do I detect a bit of our Australian artists Grace Cossington Smith and Jeffrey Smart here? Or at least wonder what they would have made of the views which attracted you, especially with the curving structures and the lone figures of fishermen and cyclist? Plenty to catch your eye there Meg.

    Like

    • I’m a bit intrigued by your mention of Cossington Smith. Tell me more. I can see a Jeffrey Smart connection a bit more easily in the sharp-edged bridge ones. His ambience is mid the midday sun, if I recall correctly.

      Like

      • Rosemary Barnard says:

        Some of Cossington Smith’s best known paintings were of Sydney Harbour Bridge, from different angles, during and after construction (completed in 1932). There are echoes of these, particularly “The Curve of the Bridge”, in your photos.

        Like

  4. findingnyc says:

    Some more great discoveries from your morning walks, Meg! Your photos are great. I really liked that curving staircase from the bridge. I think those globes must be in multiple locations around the world (or at least a version of them) – I wrote about the globes I found here in New York City here: https://findingnyc.com/2016/04/29/battery-park/. Yet another Warsaw-NYC connection!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Rosedale, sheep and heather | restlessjo

  6. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Which one is about the green roofs, the first? That’s my favourite by far. Green roofs are sometimes made with houseleeks, there’s one on a public building here in Exeter but it’s impossible to photograph. I love the spirals here, and the regeneration of the waterfront is splendid, Well done Warsaw and thanks Meg for getting up nice and early to show us!

    Like

Please talk to me!

