Vignettes from a morning walk 6

It’s not 6am yet: the air is cool and the light golden. I’m in search of two things: an uprising monument I haven’t seen, and a balcony of umbrellas I caught a glimpse of from the bus the other day. 

I find the monument, no thanks to the map which never seems to label the streets I need. There are huge bouquets with tribute ribbons; a lit candle; and small flags with the uprising symbol planted in the flower boxes amongst the red and white geraniums. Elsewhere, there are other signs of the anniversary: flags; a wall plaque; and signs on the advertising cylinders and on a history museum.



People (and birds) are out and about: sweeping up broken glass and cigarette butts; riding a bike; walking the dog; strutting proprietorially (that’s the bird) and being very loud after a night out.

In shop windows reflections, Polish designs only, cotton ball lights and a  swarm of jewellery. Above, flower boxes, facades old and new, a mural and graffiti. On the footpath, leftovers from Saturday night and a vivid sandwich board sign.



The umbrellas are worth the journey back. The camera can’t let them go. And I discover bonus umbrellas: a young woman with a white umbrella; a lacy miniature parasol; and a sign that says Umbrellas in the Backyard.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I walk along ul Chmielna, past the apartment I lived in for six weeks in 2015, and find Stalin’s Gift beckoning yet again,  this time framed by buildings, clouds in a blue sky and a shiny red car, and glowing above the shadows as the early light hits it.

On the almost empty tram I notice that the seats are patterned with images of Warsaw, wondering yet again “Why didn’t I notice this before?”

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in early morning, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Vignettes from a morning walk 6

  1. Anabel Marsh says:

    Those umbrellas are beautiful! Do you know why they are there, is it a business or just an artistic householder?

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Ah, I had been wondering if I would see a post from you today, and it doesn’t disappoint! Love those umbrellas!

    Like

  3. Heyjude says:

    The umbrellas are fabulous and you so obviously loved them too!

    Like

    • I’m now seeing umbrellas everywhere – a red frilly one on a baby’s pram; another red one on an ice-cream-from-a-bike stall; a gold one on this walk (but I was too far away); and then a pile from above in a post I’m working on.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    Your posts really convey the fierce nationalism of Poland, born of suffering and struggle. The umbrellas delight, reminding me of the display my pharmacist has hanging on three walls of his shop, above the labelled, antique bottles which once contained ingredients for medicines. I like quirkiness wherever I see it. There is plenty in Warsaw.

    Like

    • I want to see that chemist’s! Take care, my dear.

      Like

      • Rosemary Barnard says:

        Well then, you will have to plan a visit to Newcastle when you return to Australia. My pharmacist is a Newcastle treasure in his own right. He grows orchids and poppies, displaying them in the shop when they flower. He rides his bike to work several kilometres up and down hills. He travels frequently and extensively: “Where’s Bob this time?”, I often ask. Once he treated my old friend Frances’ corns behind the shop when she came in asking for something to help. He has a framed piece of Arabic calligraphy he thinks contains the attributes of Allah. He plays classical music while working. And he is in his seventies. His relief pharmacist is in her eighties, a vegetarian and an equal delight. I am sure that Warsaw contains its own complement of human treasures like them and now you have time to make the acquaintance of some of them.

        Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    A walk for me? And a tram seat. Super! 🙂 Before we get to the fabulous brolly gallery I need to ask you about the windows encased in pink/silver glass? Trendy looking building and I can’t quite make out what’s reflection/real? 🙂
    Love the gallery! And Lisa has a cream lace parasolka almost identical to that one. How funny! 🙂 Love you!

    Like

  6. Lucid Gypsy says:

    The umbrellas are such fun, you could get a different colour for each day of the week and then the rain wouldn’t seem so bad! Warsaw really is quite a city!

    Like

  7. findingnyc says:

    I’m really enjoying your early morning walks, Meg!

    Like

  8. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Burton Agnes | restlessjo

  9. Jackie says:

    I love the umbrellas, thanks for making a trip to capture them.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Canalside in Skipton | restlessjo

Please talk to me!

