in a pianist’s quarters

Only Viveka at myguiltypleasures would combine a bridal market and dilapidation in the same post. This is the last of her Warsaw I’ll be reblogging. I’ve throughly enjoyed seeing my city through her eyes.

myguiltypleasures

Mala signWhen I visit Warsaw last year I heard about the pre-war tenement quarter on the other side of river Wisła in Praga and I took the tram  … and walked and walked … asked and asked, but no luck. But I found a bridal dress market instead, the Różycki Bazar …. the black market trade once thrived under Nazi and communist governments, but nowadays the historic market (it began in 1901) is a ghostly image of its former self.

So when we met Meg and she started talking about that the quarters was used as film locations for Roman Polanski’s award-winning film “The Pianist” from 2002. It was a lot easier to find the locations for the quarter on Goggle, but Meg took Sue and me there so we didn’t have to walk around and look for the streets. There are tram stops in both ends: tram 26. It was a…

View original post 410 more words

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to in a pianist’s quarters

  1. Sue says:

    Vivi is brilliant at combining very different photographic pleasures!

    Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Ooh wonderful! and I notice you called Warsaw your city 🙂

    Like

Please talk to me!

