Six Word Saturday – Some Cold War era Neon signs

I’m suddenly getting a lot of help representing Warsaw. Sue’s photos of the Neon Museum which I’d never even heard of, are stunning. I plan to visit the museum, but I don’t think I’ll attempt a post. I don’t need to.

WordsVisual

Six words in the title only, and I’m also linking to Cees Photo challenge this week – Signs.

During my recent visit to Warsaw, Vivi and I visited a quirky little museum in the middle of nowhere (it seemed) in the city. It was the brainchild of a British/Polish photographer, Ilona Karwinska, who visited Warsaw in 2005, saw some of the old signs and began a photographic project to document them which culminated in a best selling book.. She and her partner, the London based graphic designer David Hill, set about saving many of the signs from destruction and eventually they set up the neon museum.

The museum is housed in an old warehouse in a complex in the southern part of the Praga district, and there were a few aged, unrestored dilapidated old signs outside. Initially, it looked a rather uninviting place, but was well worth the visit!…

View original post 52 more words

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Six Word Saturday – Some Cold War era Neon signs

  1. Sue says:

    Thanks for this reblog, Meg….I don’t usually allow, but done properly (as here), it’s fine!

    Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    It looks an interesting place doesn’t it Meg? So and Aussie woman living in Warsaw get cultural travel information from an English woman 🙂 🙂 🙂 I hope you enjoy visiting!

    Like

    • I think Viveka was the actual source of these knowledge – because she read “Warsaw in your pocket” with devotion and a practised eye. I was amazed too – I fancied myself as the Warsaw guide. Pride always takes a fall.

      Like

Please talk to me!

