A morning of nostalgia

Last week, I saw a photo of my Warsaw mob on a sandy track through the bush (thank you, Aneta) and suddenly my Australian home was very close. I knew that I needed to find the place that contained this seed of nostalgia and explore its tracks.

Checking Park Kultury w Powsinie on Google images, I found a photo of a bus, the 519.  That solved the how-to-get-there problem – even if I did begin by catching 519 in the wrong direction. Once we got beyond Wilanów, the bus stopped “na żądanie” (on demand) and the road signs warned of tractors and horse drawn vehicles. I was heading for the country.

The park is 50 hectares, and was once a golf course. It reminds me at first of a rather dilapidated park where we sometimes went for Sunday school picnics in my childhood: that place, near Lane Cove, was called Fairyland. Playground equipment, including a huge manual merry-go-round, was battered and the paint was peeling. The garbage tins at Powsin remind me of the Fairyland feeling.

I pass an outdoor amphitheatre, empty now, paving stones edged by grass and tiny white flowers.

I find my sandy tracks, edged by weedy bushland.

The tracks lead to dirt roads with the marks of tractor tyres, bordering on farmland.


Berries and flowers brighten the weedy green, insect eggs pattern leaves, a string of translucent fruits hang in a necklace, leaves capture light and shadow, roots calligraph the dirt, and a hollow log makes a mossy vase for ferns and serrated leaves.




Making my way back into the park I see a cyclist and some of the park’s more urban attractions – a jungle course,  tennis courts, a restaurant, children’s rides, basketball courts, an area of exercise machines, and overflowing garbage tins signifying a busy weekend.


An old oak tree, pomnik indeed, propped up and protected by law, its acorn cups dotted ready for stitching, is surrounded by a low fence marking the spread of its upper branches.

I emerge from this reconnaissance back at the entrance to the park: a swimming pool, a discarded giraffe and “seasonal touristic homes.”  I sit beside a small rustic fountain with other aging women: one in rumpled white with a clumsy backpack, meeting a friend with immaculate hennaed hair, a walking stick, a floating silk shirt, and a neat shopping trolley: one walking with difficulty and dipping her fingers into the fountain, shaking them dry with graceful arm movements: and me, in bright trousers and a faded black Tshirt, staggering a bit when I stand. 

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in parks, photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A morning of nostalgia

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    Love these contemplative explorations, Meg.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. freebutfun says:

    loved the pictures. Summer!

    Like

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I hope the oak tree is okay as it needs support all around, and what a pretty pearl bracelet! It must be strange to uproot for a whole year Meg, tugs on your heart wherever you are and your emotions are close to the surface here.

    Like

  4. Heyjude says:

    No matter where we are in the world at some point home starts to call us back. I’m glad you managed to track down this bit of bush in Warsaw, but I find it a little eerie to see it so desolate, like a film set – I feel that it needs people and children running around, playing on the equipment. Seems to be abandoned during the week and somewhat sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s well used at the weekend, and I left a bit after ten. Warszawians aren’t early risers. People were congregating for the opening of the swimming pool as I left. And for me, its emptiness was delight. I could poke around and feel some of the solitude and silence of home. There was the occasional sound of a plane – but no sirens!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I love all the details you observed on your walk. You can’t beat a stroll through the countryside on a sunny day. Sadly though there’s nothing like an overflowing litter bin to bring you back down to earth!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. restlessjo says:

    Smiling 🙂 I love the transluscence of the berries and that wisp of pink petals. Too tired to fully appreciate. I’ll be back tomorrow, hon.

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    Here I am- alert again! 🙂 I followed the link and apparently there are botanic gardens nearby, but I loved your venture into the country, Meg. Felt a little like my bus ride to Lodz. Good old nostalgia! Hugs, darlin 🙂 🙂

    Like

Please talk to me!

