Book of the month: Eduardo Halfon

I don’t often reblog, but I’m going to reblog this, both for the introduction about the power of storytelling in creating understanding between people after the post brexit attacks on Poles (but not only Poles); for the Polish connection since I am now embedded in my daughter’s Polish family; and because it is a magnificent review.

A year of reading the world

14538437605_3f14dfcb10_b

It’s been a difficult week here in the UK and for many of us there is great uncertainty about the future. One thing I am sure of, however, is that – now more than ever – we English speakers must read and listen to the stories of people who use other languages. From what I have learnt over more than four years of global literary exploration, this is one of the surest and best ways to further our understanding and appreciation of the way those in other places see the world.

Translation gives us the gift of looking through the eyes of all humanity. By borrowing others’ perspectives, in the special way that stories allow us to do, we enlarge and enrich our seeing. We will need that vision more profoundly than ever in the challenging months ahead.

With that in mind, it’s my pleasure to share a wonderful novel…

View original post 793 more words

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in other people's blogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Book of the month: Eduardo Halfon

  1. Sue says:

    I must seek this book out, sounds exactly my kind of read….

    Like

  2. findingnyc says:

    Sounds like an intriguing book, and an interesting blog as well. Thank you for introducing me to them both.

    Like

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Thanks for leading me there Meg, it sounds an interesting read that I’m tempted to add to my pile . . .

    Like

Please talk to me!

