What I missed in Gdańsk and surrounds

I felt quite satisfied that I saw as much of Gdańsk as I could in limited time, but there are many treasures yet to be discovered. Here are some of the things I missed: a list for the future.

The cemetery of lost cemeteries: this is a memorial to all those people buried in graveyards either destroyed during World War II or bulldozed on purpose after the end of the war. It’s surrounded by broken gravestones of all faiths.

The amber museum: this contains a collection amber with bugs, plants and even a lizard caught inside; and many objects created from amber including inkwells, spoons and a Fender Stratocaster guitar.

The monument to evacuated children: those 10,000 Jewish children taken from Gdańsk to Britain in 1938 – 39 in the ‘kindertransports’. 

The National Museum: located in a former Franciscan monastery with a late Gothic interior.

Ashore at Westerplatte: Fort Carré, a 16th century defensive structure; the lighthouse at Nowy Port; a monument to Polish  defenders of the coast in 1939; and traces of WW2.

Murals:  huge paintings on the concrete walls in Zaspa, a Gdańsk bedroom district.

Oliwa cathedral: aha! Parkland. And a church with a very long history and a notable organ.

Sopot: a ferry ride away or a short train journey. Definitely on the Baltic and a summer playground, home to the Crooked House.

Gdynia: another ferry ride, or short train journey. A seaport built in the 1920s – on the Bay of Gdańsk: is that the Baltic? – with a museum tracing emigration from Poland since the 19th century.

Hel: a seal centre, a long sea beach, and 19th century fisherman’s cottages.

Malbork: a vast 13th century fortified monastery, about 60 km from Gdańsk, built by the Teutonic Knights and on the UNESCO world heritage list.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in beyond Warsaw, bits and pieces, Gdańsk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to What I missed in Gdańsk and surrounds

  1. Candy says:

    What fun! Lots to look forward to!

    Like

  2. Tish Farrell says:

    I think you need to go back asap. The first three alone have me wanting to ‘see’ more. Or maybe I need to go. Now see what you’ve done! My walks up Windmill Hill are not enough 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Madhu says:

    A great incentive for you to return then Meg! 🙂 Making a note of that cemetery for a future visit. We missed quite a bit on our recent trip, mostly due to bad weather. Most disappointing was Plitvice, a spectacular national park, that we had left for our last full day en route to Zagreb.

    Like

    • Oh, what a pity to miss that. I spent a few days there in 2014 and it was quite stunning. I even managed a few almost solitary walks and found an orchid. However, you covered a lot of ground. I learnt years ago to accept that I was never going to see everything when I didn’t visit Aleppo and Baalbek, and spent more time in Palmyra and Hama instead – a few stunningly memorable early morning walks in each place, now sadly beyond tourism and submerged in grief.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. restlessjo says:

    I’d have had to do the National Museum for the cloisters and ride on a couple of ferries. 🙂 Hel too, but I think you might need a week for that itinerary. Malbork I’m not too bothered about because I have friends who’ve been and they had lots of weaponry photos.
    Thank you for the lovely preview. Been a busy but very enjoyable day so I’m a bit behind on the blog. Poor Sue! 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • But Malbork’s a castle!!!!!

      Like

      • restlessjo says:

        I’m half English, remember? We have castles falling out of trees! Well, almost… 🙂 Happy Sunday!

        Like

        • And I’m Australian and we don’t. Not medieval ones anyway. Can we agree to differ on Malbork?? I’d hate castles to come between us!

          Like

          • restlessjo says:

            It’s a mighty big one to come between us, hon, but I wouldn’t let it. 🙂 Tomorrow’s walk has its very own beautiful castle but heaven knows when I’ll get it writ. Hovering between another garden breakfast and the washing. Probably going to Whitley Bay with Mick this morning as he has a job up there. Heaven knows who’s cooking Sunday lunch for Dad’s arrival. Oh- that’ll be me then 🙂 🙂 Happy Sunday, sweetheart. I’ll come and find you later.

            Like

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Too much world to see and there aren’t many places I’ve been back to. I never understand people that go to the same place every year!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. desleyjane says:

    Sounds like you need to plan a return visit! Will you have time?

    Like

  7. Heyjude says:

    And another sad soul who photographs man-hole covers!

    Like

  8. freebutfun says:

    A good one, good tips for us to bear in mind. Thanks!

    Like

Please talk to me!

