Fence

The statue of Adam Mickiewicz, poet, patriot, essayist, dramatist, publicist, translator, professor of Slavic literature, and political activist, is enclosed by a gloriously intricate fence. Inside the enclosure is a rose garden and at the moment a paddock of grass. No doubt at some point it will be forced into unattractive neatness by a platoon of gardeners.


About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fence

  1. restlessjo says:

    What a grand photo that first is! I love it 🙂
    Back to north east gloom. 😦 Have you ‘seen’ anything of Jude this last day or 3? I’m wondering if everything’s ok. And, I meant to ask- are you going to Gdansk on your own? Or is J going too? I meant to do a bit of research for you but I haven’t got to it yet. Sorry! Apologetic hugs 🙂

    Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I hope they don’t manicure this little poet’s garden, I’m sure he would prefer it to be wild and abundant. How are you honey? I’m behind with everything as usual but hey, it’s Friday and two days off work, hooray!

    Like

    • I’m thriving, although I’m also sleeping a lot – not used to these very long days, so an afternoon nap is necessary. I’ve already wished you a relaxing weekend elsewhere, but hey, it won’t hurt to do it again.

      Like

  3. Heyjude says:

    Now that’s what I would call an ornate fence… beautifully captured.

    Like

  4. findingnyc says:

    I love the fence details. Whoever created it was a true artist.

    Like

Please talk to me!

