Park Dreszera

I’m slowly working my way through Warsaw parks as I was through Eurobodalla beaches in that other life: there are nearly as many of them too.  

Park Dreszera is a mere two tram stops away, a formal park filling a block, slightly overgrown. As I walk through the side gate, I’m amused by the list of things you can’t do. There are a number of people around on this sunny late morning: frail old women with walking sticks and a sturdier companion; mothers and babcias with prams; the inevitable mobile phone chatterers; gardeners surrounded by overturned pots and newly planted flowers sitting on a bench and chatting; and a group of bag-men talking loudly near the entrance. 

Oh, and this ambling photographer, dropping to her knees or stepping across hedges in search of a good shot. There is plenty to draw the camera: a fountain, plentiful benches slowly drowning in greenery, urns, an Uprising monument, flowers and leaves, and a pigeon with a very brown eye.





I cross the busy road to the wild side, where a dilapidated building is a sign of things to come, if nature can ever be called dilapidated. The parkland here is unpaved and longish-grassed. Where it drops away over the escarpment there are only steep narrow dirt tracks. I share this space with a crowd of old men with their big plastic bags of possessions; a pair of teenage lovers; a mother wheeling a pram and talking on her mobile; and a heavily tattooed cyclist. I can hear the plock of tennis balls, a magisterial voice making pronouncements in a schoolyard, the whoosh of traffic, and birdsong. Soon there will be the heavenly smell of lime tree blossom. There are of course trunks to photograph and a twisted tree. As I leave, I notice boulders systematically placed, with information panels and the familiar icon, a green eagle, that announces a monument of nature. The interest in geology left behind in Australia is reawakened in Warsaw by pink granite.






Footnote 

Everywhere in Warsaw there are things that add snippets to my knowledge of the complexities of Polish history and items to my list of things I need to know more about. This park is named for Gustaw Konstanty Orlicz-Dreszer (October 2, 1889 − July 16, 1936), a Polish general, and a political and social activist. Before WW 1 he was involved in pro-independence activities in partitioned Poland. On 3 August 1914, at the outset of the war, he was mobilised as a reserve officer in a Russian hussar regiment. On 14 August, he deserted and crossed the front line. From 1914 to 1917 he served in the 1st Brigade of the Polish Legions. He was arrested during the Oath Crisis of 1917, a facet of history that I’ve encountered more than once recently, and died flying a plane too low over the Baltic in 1936.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in parks, photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Park Dreszera

  1. Tish Farrell says:

    This is a lovely gallery, Meg. Especially like the hosta study plus the snail. And all those flower pots – so naughty of them amongst such good order. Am also intrigued by your lime/linden pix. The leaves, though similar to ours, look quite a different ‘consistency’ – tougher perhaps?

    Like

    • Does your lime have a wonderful perfume? We haven’t got a case of mistaken identity have we?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tish Farrell says:

        No, they are definitely the same species, Meg. I believe there are different strains in the UK. And yes those very unnoticeable flowers have the most blissful scent. Used by herbalists as a serious cure for insomnia. The leaf difference might also be a product of how the tree has been pruned. I must post a photo I took recently of some avenues of pleached limes – not in leaf when snapped, so they look a bit stark, but by now must be heavenly green and scented avenues.

        Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    i prefer slightly overgrown to too pristine and there’s lots to see here, even a pretty fountain. The curly tree is brill, I bet you jumped for joy when you saw it!

    Like

    • Yes, I jumped for joy but also went half crazy trying to get the light right and eradicate glare. I liked the paddocky feel of the other side too, although it was good seeing vines and bushes taking over the more formal side.

      Like

  3. Heyjude says:

    Your words paint a picture even without the photos (but please do keep on posting photos). I am imaging the smells that accompany you on your stroll. And I am now puzzling over the lime tree blossoms and fragrance. I cannot recall any on my linden trees. Blossom or fragrance. I shall have to look through my monthly challenge. The hosta gallery is superb, that snail is going to have a feast unless you removed it and I love the flower spike detail. Need to check if mine is flowering (and to remove snails…)

    Like

    • Don’t worry. There’ll always be photos. They’re much easier than words. Neither lime blossom more fragrance has arrived in force yet, but flowers are beginning. Thanks for the reminder – I’d forgotten these were hosta – and no! I didn’t remove the snail. Especially after those ragged shots of yours. I thought I’d let him get on with his artistry!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. pommepal says:

    Such detail you notice Meg, I loved this wander with you and I was intrigued with the curly tree. Do you think it had been trained that way? That pigeon had his brown, beady eye on you.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    What kind of park has to exclude trumpeters, Meg? Made me smile 🙂 And those hosta shots are wonderful. Are you missing Australia much, or just in idle moments?

    Like

    • I smiled at that list of bans too. There were things I hadn’t even thought of doing! I wonder of trumpets means recorders too?

      Thanks for asking. J’s missing home enough for both of us I think, although I had a sudden vision of my kitchen the other day, and now you’ve asked …! At the moment there are floods, which means J’s place will be cut off except through the bush.

      Hope your week is splendid. My labour halves when J finishes classes tomorrow. I don’t want to share cooking, but I’m eager to share shopping. Hugs across the distance.

      Like

      • restlessjo says:

        I imagine the crunch will come when the Polish weather turns cold and Spring arrives in Australia. But you have all of Summer and lovely Autumn to look forward to before that. Hugs for the twinlets 🙂
        Today was glorious! Lazed in the garden then went riverside walking with James. He’s back to Leeds this evening so a peaceful week ahead.

        Liked by 1 person

Please talk to me!

