Glow

Paula’s Thursday’s special challenge this week is glow.  I could not think of one image that might represent that diffusion of light, that radiance, that luminosity, that incandescence. I know photography is about light but most of my photos lack light in their soul: it impinges, but it doesn’t pour forth. So I decided to sit back and enjoy the embodiment of glow in other people’s photos – Paula’s sun, Tish’s tulip, Jo’s bedroom at Zawady, Irene’s “red and yellow, blue and green”, Le Drake Noir’s purple, Debbie’s Speloncato, Pauline’s Brisbane, Gilly’s fountain.

Then I got idle and maybe a little bit homesick, so I went back to an old blog, my first as morselsandscraps, for a ramble around my Australian self. And guess what? I found two glowing treasures – one was a jellyfish aglow on Potato Point beach. 

The other one was a glow of a different kind, a glow of satisfaction at the linking of generations, the presence of my father in the lives of my grandchildren.  Last week they asked to see photos of my daddy who was a fireman and therefore intrinsically fascinating to them. I had no photos with me, or so I thought, until, on my old blog, I stumbled across the very image I’d described to them: my father sitting in a fire engine wearing his golden brass helmet, with the fire station cat beside him. 

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Glow

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    This creature has such a lovely soft glow, pearlescent and frills like a petticoat. Now you know I’m going to ask, where will I find the photo of Fireman Dad that Maja and Jas loved?

    Like

  2. Paula says:

    It may be the best feature of social networks of today to serve as a portable virtual photo-album. A very original take on the theme. Nicely captured.

    Like

    • I’ve drawn on my blog a number of times when I’ve been away from home. It also makes an easy reference point, and reminds me of things I’ve forgotten. Sometimes I even think I can write! Thank you for taking time out from busyness to comment.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Glow | Lost in Translation

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    I have a photograph of your father that you shared with me a while ago. He is not dressed in his fireman’s uniform there, although you did show me that one too. I will email it to you so that you can share it with your family. I was very fond of both your parents, as you know, and have such happy memories of times spent at your place when we were children. Re the absence of glow in your Warsaw photos, I remember seeing a very distinct glow in the petals of the pink tulips you posted recently, such a glow that they remain firmly lodged in memory.

    Like

    • Thank you, both for the photo of Dad (the twins saw it and the fireman one this morning, but Jaś wanted a fire too) and for the glow comment. I’m very pleased when my phones toes (meant to be photos, but “phones toes” is worth preserving!) are remembered. My early morning walk yesterday yielded a bit more glow.

      Like

  5. pommepal says:

    That is a an amazing glowing jellyfish. I’m pleased you told us what it is as I would never have guessed. What I enjoy about challenges is the searching through the archives for an elusive image, bringing back so many memories, and taking up so much time!!!. Occasionally I have a current photo that serves the purpose but usually they are reserved for posts about my “doings”… I’m pleased you gave Gilly the link to the post about your Father. A man to be greatly admired and your words bring his times back to life. Sadly my Father died, of a heart attack, when I was 10.

    Like

  6. restlessjo says:

    You are a silly old sausage! I don’t know anyone with more ‘glow’ to them. 🙂 Thank you for the mention. I’ll have to nip back to Gilly’s because I think I missed it, but thanks to her for the link to your Dad’s photo. You two are so prolific! I need a dreary day like this to catch up after my gay social whirl. 🙂

    Like

  7. desleyjane says:

    Wow what intriguing photos. So pretty. I hope you’re feeling better?

    Like

Please talk to me!

