Portraits of last year’s love

Last year in Warsaw I fell in love. With many things really. It was after all spring, and in the northern hemisphere that means something splendid. But my true love was the horse chestnut. This year I arrived earlier and I fell in love promiscuously: with crabapples, sycamores, silver birches, willows, box elder – and of course stayed in love with twins. But now my old love has returned in all its glory.

It stands grand and domed in rows along streets; amongst the deep green of parks; on the approach to Polin; and in the preschool playground. I can’t avoid it even if I wanted to.

I am conflicted. Who is my primary plant love?

And then, suddenly, the flowers are falling and the love affair fades.






About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in flowers, photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Portraits of last year’s love

  1. restlessjo says:

    Wonderful! I sometimes think we’re still walking on the same street, you and I. 🙂 My camera is full of Spring images that I haven’t even had time to download yet. Off to Dad’s for a bit of Spring cleaning today 😦 and then to watch Rafa as compensation. Well, maybe not quite the same street… 🙂 🙂 Hugs, darlin.

    Like

  2. suzyjbarker says:

    Beautiful. The chestnuts are in full bloom here in the UK too. I particularly like the red chestnuts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I love conker trees and grew up with one to hang around. I could be wrong, pictures can be deceiving but do a search on sweet chestnut because it looks to me like there’s one in with these!

    Like

  4. Tish Farrell says:

    My mother had a passion for ‘sticky buds’ i.e. we had to go out haunting the countryside in order to catch some horse chestnut twigs just as the leaves were thinking of opening. I remember the twigs unfurling in a big terracotta jug. But I much prefer the flowers – the trees lit up with all those creamy candles. A lovely chestnut gallery, Meg.

    Like

  5. Oh how beautifully they have fallen to the base of the tree, forming this light carpet of petals!

    Like

  6. Heyjude says:

    They are such beautiful flowers when seen close up. I never knew that when I was young, we just loved them for the conkers 🙂

    Like

  7. pommepal says:

    A lovely gallery Meg and ending so sadly with all the fallen blossom. But life will live on with the conkers. I also remember the conkers Jude. Did you have conker battles and strived to find the “King Conker” that would smash all the others to smithereens. Ah the memories these posts invoke…

    Like

Please talk to me!

