Park

What I really enjoy about Warsaw parks – apart from the frenzy of blooming and fading and seeding – is their dense shade, so different from the patchy eucalyptus shade at home. I seek that shade the way Warszawians seek the sun. This morning I walked through the dark green of the Saxon Gardens under horse chestnuts and past statues and a fountain. I also walked with the ghosts of Marie Curie who ran through this park on the way to school and Frederic Chopin who lived in the palace (destroyed by the Germans in WW2) as a child for seven years. I couldn’t visit his musical bench today because a two year old had taken possession of it and was dancing with delight.

This post is linked to Paula’s Thursday’s special challenge. For a stroll in other parks all over the world pay her a visit.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in challenge, parks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Park

  1. pommepal says:

    Such a different shade of green to the Aussie bush and yes much denser.

    Like

  2. Heyjude says:

    Isn’t it miraculous how the views change from bare black branches to all this intense greenery in just a few weeks? I hope you are savouring the European spring, the most beautiful time of the year I think, though autumn comes a close second 🙂

    Like

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Ahh I think I spot a beech tree as well, I love the feel of their leaves, like satin. Will I find Chopin’s musical bench some where here? Do I vaguely remember it from last year?

    Like

  4. findingnyc says:

    Looks like it’s turning out to be a beautiful Spring – well, I guess we are heading towards Summer now. I’m so envious of you walking through a park where Marie Curie traveled as a child.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    I’m joining Gilly in a childish stamping of my feet- ‘we want the bench! we want the bench!’ 🙂 🙂 Well, if she can do roly polys… 🙂
    Wonderfully dense shade, Meg, and shared memories.

    Like

  6. Paula says:

    Lush shade and ghosts of Chopin and Marie Curie – wonderful. Thank you, Meg. Which of the three photos should I choose for the slideshow?

    Like

    • The third one I think. Which would you have said? And am I stretching the parameters by posting more than one photo?

      Like

      • Paula says:

        No, of course not. You may post as many as you like, Meg 🙂 I just can’t afford room for more than one per blogger in the slideshow. I am very glad you like the third one best cause it is my favourite too 🙂

        Like

  7. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Park | Lost in Translation

  8. Lush green trees! I can only wish that across the world we preserved trees like they have in Warsaw. Too much of chopping down trees in the name of “city development”.

    Like

    • Given the annihilation of Warsaw in WW2 it’s astonishing that trees have survived. The primeval forest near Białystok is under threat though, ostensibly because of beetles, but logging is a drastic measure.

      Liked by 1 person

Please talk to me!

