On the verge

This post is a bit out of sequence because I wanted to include it in Jude’s wildflower challenge



Although I was not considered capable of walking to the lake at Gryżyna, I insisted on walking back, a lovely T-shirt stroll along a familiar road, traversed many times when Maja and Jaś still travelled in a pram and still needed soothing into a daytime nap. I had leisure to notice roadside flowerings, some obviously escapees from gardens. A chainsaw roared, preparing wood against winter cold: further on a neat yurt-shaped woodpile awaited burning. Other strollers greeted me with an amiable “Dzień dobry”, unusual in passing encounters with Poles. A small furry body proved to be a dead mole. When I reached the village I had some doubts about my way, but I headed tentatively uphill and soon caught a glimpse of our thatched roof, having survived all the rigours of a two kilometre walk.



This post is linked to Jude’s wildflower challenge for May.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in challenge, flowers, photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to On the verge

  1. restlessjo says:

    That first plant, I can NEVER get a good shot of. It goes all wishy washy on me! 🙂 I’m procrastinating here this morning under the pretext of seeking out Paula and Jude. Happy Sunday!

    Like

  2. I took heaps, and I don’t think this one is particularly good – I put it first so you’d forget its deficiencies! As for getting at the flower hiding under the leaves – not a chance. I’m studying Snapseed and iPhone photography and making vegan pancake mix before I go to the twins while parents run 10km together. Can’t wait for your tomorrow’s walk.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pommepal says:

    I’ve been away from my reader for a couple of days and now have the joy of catching up with every one. My goodness but the blog world does just steam ahead the minute I take my eyes of it. This is another delightful post Meg. Jude will be proud of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    I love the pale mauve violet.

    Like

    • This doesn’t surprise me. I remember your penchant for violets – and your wonderful, well-tended collection of African violets, if they qualify as violets. The one in the photo is particularly delicate.

      Like

  5. Sue says:

    I do love your adjectives, Meg – a T-shirt stroll is very evocative, and saves a ton of words! And I like your flowers, especially the delicately veined pale one, whatever it is

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Heyjude says:

    I appreciate your diversion Meg – your wild flowers are very familiar. And I am sure the 2km walk didn’t put too much strain on you 🙂

    Like

  7. Tish Farrell says:

    A lovely wildflower gallery, Meg, and all ones I recognise. Red dead nettle top left. And it’s been an amazing year here for lesser celandines (bottom). There have been carpets of them where carpets have never been seen before. They’re usually among our earliest spring flowers, but this year they have been going on and on.

    Like

    • Gilly introduced me to celandines and I was pretty sure that’s what I had here. Thanks for confirmation. As well as beside the road at Gryżyna, they were prolific in the park we walk through to pre-school. And thanks for the red dead nettle: I’m off to see if it stings.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I hope they looked after you well when you completed those two kilometres? These are very pretty, well done for discovering the joys of snapseed, it’s one of my favourite photo apps and when I think of all the time I spent teaching myself photoshop all those years ago, I wish I’d had snapseed then!

    Like

Please talk to me!

