Who’d bother dining out?

This is the way we eat at home. Soups, salads, steamed vegetables with the rich chewiness of buckwheat, brews of vegetables and beans with sunflower seeds. Oh, and in case you didn’t notice, the occasional beer.


The raw materials look pretty good, so we have a head start.


Then, to top off fine cuisine, fresh strawberries, only $AUD3 a kilo.

I won’t be posting for a few days. We’re off to spend the May Day holiday in western Poland, not all that far from Berlin, but without reliable internet.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in food, photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Who’d bother dining out?

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Have a lovely time, I hope the food is as good where you’re going!

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Have a great time in Western Poland – the area that used to be Silesia?

    Like

  3. Heyjude says:

    Looks good. Is it easy to get all the grains and pulses in Poland then?

    Like

    • A bit hard to find some of the spices we’re used to, but we haven’t tried very hard yet. Beans and chickpeas usually from tins for ease. Rice and buckwheat laid on in mountains (if it is buckwheat. I’m not 100% sure. No wonder I can’t learn Polish.)

      Like

      • Heyjude says:

        I once used to make buckwheat pancakes (from the flour obviously) now I am quite fond of bulgur wheat and quinoa as a change to rice, but I also like to use different rices such as red and brown and wild rice.

        Like

  4. Rosemary Barnard says:

    You should be jumping out of your skin with all the healthy food. I love the look of that salad with the chickpeas. I too have been having quite a few soups and salads. Perfect in any season. Christine’s tomato and red lentil soup is a real winner, but possible combinations are infinite.

    Like

    • I’m not quite. More like jumping into an early bed! But I won’t blame the food for that. Did you send me the recipe? Lentils are out for Jaś, but not for J and me.

      Like

      • Rosemary Barnard says:

        I don’t think I did send you the recipe. As I have said elsewhere, my head is still cotton wool after the anaesthetic and I forget a few things. Will get there. The recipe is super easy and has a few shortcuts which don’t detract from the finished product. It obviously has the tick of approval from a dietition, Christine who gave it to me. It would go very well with some of that delicious bread you photographed so enticingly.

        Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    Dzien dobry! Have a fabulous time! Vivi was just posting potato and bacon soup and I’m full already. Dad is dozing over the snooker and all is peaceful xxx

    Like

  6. pommepal says:

    That is such healthy looking food, it should certainly keep you fit. Restaurant food just can’t compete. I’m pleased to have caught up with you before you travel West. My blog wouldn’t open for a couple of days and the posts kept piling up. Have a safe trip and I look forward to reading about your adventures when you return..

    Like

  7. badfish says:

    Found you! Lovely stuff here. Great photos, great food! What is the soup sitting on…that looks like a stack of flowers, and blue?

    Like

    • It’s a very cheap plastic placemat!!! But it works well, doesn’t it? I’m honoured that you’re following me. Thank you.

      Like

      • badfish says:

        The placemat makes a great background, especially for the soup! I’ve never been to Poland…is it cool…beyond the good food?

        Like

        • I’m 70+ so your cool’s probably not my cool! However my family has kayaked in the Masurian Lakes; skied and walked near Zakopane, holidayed in forest and lakes at Gryżyna (we’re packed ready to go there for the Mayday weekend as I type this); walked in primeval forest near Białystok (quick for that one – the government has plans.) Then there’s all the horrible history: it trips you up just about every step you take in Warsaw. And don’t get me started on snow and spring! I’m Australian so these are major adventures for me.

          Like

  8. Suzanne says:

    Looks tasty. How exciting to be exploring Poland. I will look forward to the photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Please talk to me!

