If you take enough photos …

… your subject may well succumb and offer you a passable image. Conifers have been giving me ongoing photographic grief, but I’m gradually assembling a reasonable portfolio, or at least one that hints at possibilities for someone with better macro skills than I (or my camera) possess. Here, without ID apart from order name, are the photos so far, taken from four different species. No ID because J says “I’m not doing conifers” and he’s my ID guru.
     

   

    

I’m linking this retrospectively to Jude’s close-up garden challenge. If you want expertise, look there!

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in photos, trees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to If you take enough photos …

  1. Rosemary Barnard says:

    Your conifer cones and leaves are lovely to behold. Such variety, and, dare I say, delicacy as they form. Not at all like the conifers I know in Australia, whether introduced or native. I will look at those more closely from now on.

    Like

    • I must confess I was startled by diversity and beauty: once I blew up those pale pink roses with black edges, I started to look elsewhere. I’m sure conifers in Australia will offer similar beauties, caught at the right moment.

      Like

      • Rosemary Barnard says:

        So Poland teaches us to see the beauty in Australia which we bypass. I must admit, however, that when I looked carefully I discovered great beauty in casuarinas. And I have been appreciating the bark of Norfolk Island pines for some years.

        Like

  2. Tish Farrell says:

    I’m not much good on conifer ID, but the final group is, as John Cleese used to say in Monty Python, ‘The Larch’. The cones of conifers are very beautiful and we often forget to look, so thanks for the reminder, Meg.

    Like

  3. Sue says:

    Ah, well done, Meg – getting in close has served you well here,,.. 😀

    Like

  4. Heyjude says:

    Such lovely variations here Meg, I’m afraid I’m not much of a spruce / conifer fan, but the cones are quite something. As you have shown.

    Like

  5. Lucid Gypsy says:

    I’m not a big fan either, but I love the lacy necklace in your photo!

    Like

  6. restlessjo says:

    ‘I’m not doing conifers’? Give him a kick in the knee caps, Meg! 🙂 🙂 I recognise most of these, but not the names, of course. Ever helpful 😦 But you’ve done quite a nice job.

    Like

Please talk to me!

