A stroll on a warm Sunday

The photos in this post are labelled for Jude, who informs me that she can’t read two posts at once.

Is there no end to spring delights? On Sunday we only walked a kilometre. And yet we found yesterday’s blossom already falling, a walnut tree budding, fan leaves of a beech unfurling, a pair of Mandarin ducks preening, crabapple and horse chestnut breaking into sudden flower, three lads in their early teen caring for a baby on the grass, the green globes of a poplar dangly (that’s a technical term!) opening, and a conifer in the act of forming a cone. 

Oh, and acquired a scraped shin – I’m a bit old to be clambering onto brick walls, which aren’t as forgiving as rock platforms.
  
  
  
  
  
    

  
  
  
  
 
  

 

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in parks, photos, spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A stroll on a warm Sunday

  1. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Hands up to you, you’ve learnt names of many more trees than I know. At infant school we were taken on nature walks and I knew loads then, but I’ve long since forgotten. Even my plant knowledge is shrinking – but I do know that’s a dead nettle and very pretty. Take care of your wounds Meg and have a great Tuesday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can take no credit for tree names. It’s J. And I drive him nuts ch caking every ID before I post it. It’s like rowing a boat: second nature to him, problematic to say the least for me! The wound is minimal – just couldn’t believe I slipped.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    Thank you for the labelling. I’m a bit of an ignoramus when it comes to trees. Splendiferous crab apple and sympathy for the knee. I bounced mine off a wall the other day too. Pure over enthusiasm. Hugs Meg xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue says:

    Like Gilly, I have long forgotten the names of trees and wild flowers I learnt as a child, kudos to you and your knowledge, Meg! Now what were you clambering up walls for? (Don’t tell, but that would have been me before my balance got so poor!)

    Like

  4. desleyjane says:

    Wow nice post. That leaning-over tree is quite amazing. And I absolutely adore that last photo.

    Like

  5. Heyjude says:

    Lovely crab apple and thank you for naming them. Like Gilly and Sue I have forgotten all my trees and I’m sure I don’t see this many around. I think I shall just post my tree photos in the hoe that you or J will name them for me 😉

    Like

Please talk to me!

