A walk in Arkadia

For my son on his 35th birthday – a post he would find no pleasure in whatsoever. Not a wave or a dolphin in sight, and only one distant dog.




There is no end to Warsaw parkland. Towards evening on a relaxing day we catch the tram a few stops along to stroll through yet another patch bordering the escarpment. This one is called Arkadia, one of more than 60 parks of varying areas. It covers 11 hectares, on two levels, with a long stretch of water, a playground and exercise area, an imposing building yet to be explored, waterhen nests, snails, and of course trees – familiar ones and new ones, including at last an oak.

 
       

   

 
  
   

     

  
   

  

  

  
 

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in parks, photos, trees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A walk in Arkadia

  1. Charis Tyrrel says:

    Meg – love the photos – the clean clear freshness of spring unfolds xx

    I just went to see at the Bolshoi ballet (the movie taken of the live performance) – of the Taming of The Shrew.

    It was fabulous and even more so as I had recently re watched the Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton movie of the TOTS.

    The below is a segment of the second act.

    Love Charis

    Like

    • Thanks so much for the link. You remind me that I have access to National Theatre Live in Warsaw. As you can see I’m loving spring here with my home bush passion. Enjoy the fading of the year there – although it seems to be still in the 20s.

      Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    How absolutely lovely, a gorgeous park to walk in, Polish faeries need to tidy up their cups when they’ve finished though!

    Like

  3. restlessjo says:

    Arkadia sounds perfect. So many beautiful signs of spring. We’ll have to appreciate it on your son’s behalf Meg. The sun is battling it’s way through thunderstorms here. Happy Saturday xxx

    Like

  4. pommepal says:

    Pure delight to see the unfolding of leaves and the beautiful spring blossom. I spotted the dog…

    Like

    • The twins are outraged by dogs at the moment. A puppy stole Maja’s after-school ham bun from her hand, and they both felt assaulted, I think. You’re right – pure delight. And every day I can revisit particular trees to observe progress. It’s a lovely way of taking possession of my world.

      Like

  5. desleyjane says:

    A very pretty post. And happy birthday to your boy!

    Like

  6. Heyjude says:

    Such lovely trees, but no names!!!! And I must confess that I enjoyed the water reflections the most. And yes I miss my river walk.

    Like

Please talk to me!

