Seven days of nature: 2

There are so many greening pleasures in this Polish spring, but none delight me quite so much as willows. They offer delicate curtains in front of the landscape, or behind portraiture, and each day the curtain becomes denser. There are willows in Australia, but there they’re a curse, clogging up waterways and turning streams to sand. Here, I can enjoy them and the nostalgia they evoke. When the twins were tiny, I used to walk them from the old apartment up to Park Morskie Oko. I’d decant them on a rug on the grass beside the lake now slowly filling. Then, they were immobile, just beginning to crawl, although even then Maja showed a frightening turn of speed when she saw a duck. Now they are a blur in the distance as I pause to capture the airiness of the willow.
  

 
 

 This is my contribution to the 7 day nature challenge begun by Ulli.  Thank you for passing the challenge on, Gilly.

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in challenge, photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Seven days of nature: 2

  1. Sue says:

    Ah, I love the gentle airy drape of a willow!

    Like

  2. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Yes they are wonderful trees, beautifully described by your writing. I saw one at the weekend but there were too many people around to photograph it. You’ve made up for that, thank you 🌿

    Like

  3. desleyjane says:

    Beautiful. I love the way you describe them.

    Like

  4. Tish Farrell says:

    Wonderful willows, Meg, coupled with the wistful fleeting word-glimpse of swiftly growing-up twins.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    I love the wispiness! 🙂 Not easy to capture, Meg. 🙂

    Like

  6. Rosemary Barnard says:

    Love the willows Meg. I always regretted it when they turned out to be pests in Australia. Somehow that designation robbed them of their beauty in my mind.

    Like

  7. pommepal says:

    My English background means I have always loved the name of weeping willows and love how you describe them Meg, and again your photos have captured their charm.

    Liked by 1 person

Please talk to me!

