Seven days of nature: day 1

I don’t usually rise to the challenge of challenges, but this one tickled my fancy – and irresistible  Gilly invited me. I was a bit intrigued by the idea of finding nature in the city, not my usual stamping grounds. Of course Warsaw offers me a good supply of parks, and there’s a beauty in Pruszków too, so I should be right.

I’ll begin with bark. It astonishes me that there are so many old trees in Warsaw, since it was so devastated during WW 2. But there they are with their fissured, braided bark, often sporting a green plate announcing that they are “Pomnik przyrody”, a monument of nature, sometimes an isolated tree, sometimes a whole avenue. 

These beauties were in the park behind our apartment. It’s called Park Morskie Oko  which I translated “eye of the sea”, but my daughter tells me it means “rock-pool”, maybe a reference to the lake now slowly filling after its winter emptiness.
 
  

This is my contribution to the 7 day nature challenge begun by Ulli. 

About morselsandscraps

A retired Australian who spends a lot of time in Warsaw, and blogs as a way of life.
This entry was posted in challenge, photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Seven days of nature: day 1

  1. desleyjane says:

    Wow so intricate. Imagine what’s living inside those crevices. I love finding nature in the city too 😊

    Like

  2. Sue says:

    Haha! We’ve both been chosen by Gilly! Like you, I rarely participate in such challenges, but hey 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Aww thanks for joining in, it’s quite hard when our circle of friends have regular challenges, and I wouldn’t have been able to do it if i didn’t have a four day weekend. Braided bark is such a perfect description, and what lovely, ancient ladies these are. Not many people have said I’m irresistible, that made me laugh x 🙂 x

    Like

  4. restlessjo says:

    These are such very Meg photos! 🙂
    The family have gone home, and I’ve remade beds, replenished the fridge, and felt a little forlorn. I think that, after Dad’s been for tea, I may relish the quiet. 🙂

    Like

  5. pommepal says:

    Such a very Meglike start to this challenge. That bark is beautifully showing the age of the trees.

    Like

  6. Madhu says:

    Ah I expected bark and I wasn’t disappointed with your ‘fissured, braided beauties Meg. Such beautiful textures!

    Liked by 1 person

Please talk to me!

